H.R. No. 1236

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The men's basketball team of Mountain View College
- 2 in Dallas won the National Junior College Athletic Association
- 3 Division III championship with a victory in the title game on March
- 4 12, 2011; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Competing in the championship tournament at
- 6 Sullivan County Community College in Loch Sheldrake, New York, the
- 7 Mountain View Lions reached the title game by defeating the College
- 8 of Davidson and Davie Counties, North Carolina, and Ocean County
- 9 College of New Jersey; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In the championship showdown, Mountain View met a
- 11 talented team from Rochester Community and Technical College in
- 12 Minnesota; despite the fact that most of the Lions team members are
- 13 freshmen, they played with calm precision and emerged with a 72-64
- 14 triumph and a national championship, while improving their final
- 15 record to an impressive 26-8; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Mountain View head coach LeRoi Phillips and
- 17 assistant coaches Belvis Noland and Frederick Washington received
- 18 valuable contributions from each member of the roster: Marcus
- 19 Price, Stephen Manago, Jr., Gary Talton, Jhordan Mason, Elisawa
- 20 Baker, Simeon Brinkley, Ashley J. Crayton, Darnell Taylor, Bryan
- 21 Rollins, Horace Hicks, Josh Harris, Jeremiah Ford, and Patrick
- 22 Howard; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to
- 24 excellence, the Mountain View College basketball team reached the

H.R. No. 1236

- 1 ultimate level of success during the 2010-2011 season, and these
- 2 skilled athletes may take justifiable pride in this accomplishment;
- 3 now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the Mountain View College men's
- 6 basketball team on winning the National Junior College Athletic
- 7 Association Division III championship and extend sincere best
- 8 wishes to the team's players, coaches, and staff for continued
- 9 success; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Alonzo

## H.R. No. 1236

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal	Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 1236 was	s adopted by the House on April		
11, by a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1236

14, 2011, by a non-record vote.