By: Alonzo

H.R. No. 1236

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The men's basketball team of Mountain View College 2 in Dallas won the National Junior College Athletic Association 3 Division III championship with a victory in the title game on March 4 12, 2011; and

5 WHEREAS, Competing in the championship tournament at 6 Sullivan County Community College in Loch Sheldrake, New York, the 7 Mountain View Lions reached the title game by defeating the College 8 of Davidson and Davie Counties, North Carolina, and Ocean County 9 College of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, In the championship showdown, Mountain View met a talented team from Rochester Community and Technical College in Minnesota; despite the fact that most of the Lions team members are freshmen, they played with calm precision and emerged with a 72-64 triumph and a national championship, while improving their final record to an impressive 26-8; and

16 WHEREAS, Mountain View head coach LeRoi Phillips and 17 assistant coaches Belvis Noland and Frederick Washington received 18 valuable contributions from each member of the roster: Marcus 19 Price, Stephen Manago, Jr., Gary Talton, Jhordan Mason, Elisawa 20 Baker, Simeon Brinkley, Ashley J. Crayton, Darnell Taylor, Bryan 21 Rollins, Horace Hicks, Josh Harris, Jeremiah Ford, and Patrick 22 Howard; and

23 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to 24 excellence, the Mountain View College basketball team reached the

1

1 ultimate level of success during the 2010-2011 season, and these 2 skilled athletes may take justifiable pride in this accomplishment; 3 now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1236

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Mountain View College men's basketball team on winning the National Junior College Athletic Association Division III championship and extend sincere best wishes to the team's players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

2