H.R. No. 1241

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In a display of skill and mental dexterity, Paschal
- 2 High School students in Fort Worth won the 2011 5A Science State
- 3 Championship, sponsored by the Texas Math and Science Coaches
- 4 Association; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Competing against some of the best young minds in
- 6 the Lone Star State, the Paschal High science team scored 744,
- 7 besting runner-up Dulles High School of Sugar Land by 84 points; the
- 8 contest included three mathematics competitions and a science
- 9 competition, which consisted of 60 questions divided evenly between
- 10 biology, chemistry, and physics; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Paschal students attained the highest overall
- 12 scores among sophomores, juniors, and seniors and the top overall
- 13 scores in both chemistry and physics; their triumph marked the
- 14 first time a team from the Fort Worth Independent School District
- 15 has earned the title; and
- WHEREAS, Previously this school year, the PHS science team
- 17 won The University of Texas at Arlington Regional Science Bowl and
- 18 the Junior Engineering Technical Society TEAMS Competition, and it
- 19 has also advanced in the Physics Olympiad, Chemistry Olympiad, and
- 20 Biology Olympiad; and
- 21 WHEREAS, With its most recent victory in hand, the team now
- 22 advances to the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., where
- 23 students will proudly represent Paschal High, Fort Worth, and all
- 24 of Texas; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1241

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Paschal High School science
- 3 team on claiming the 2011 5A Science State Championship and extend
- 4 to its members and coaches sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Shelton

H.R. No. 1241

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1241 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House