H.R. No. 1261

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University women's basketball team
- 2 proved itself the finest Division I college squad in the country by
- 3 winning the 2011 NCAA national championship with a victory in the
- 4 title game on April 5; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Led by All-American senior Danielle Adams, who
- 6 tallied 30 points and 9 rebounds, the Aggies overpowered a talented
- 7 team from the University of Notre Dame to post a 76-70 victory and
- 8 take home the university's first national title in basketball; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In addition to the dominating performance from Ms.
- 10 Adams, who was named the most outstanding player in the tournament,
- 11 Texas A&M received a vital boost from Tyra White, who knocked down
- 12 18 points, including a clutch three-point shot with just over a
- 13 minute left in the game to help secure the win; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The exceptional play of the Aggies in the Final Four
- 15 capped off an unforgettable year in which each member of the team
- 16 committed herself to attaining the ultimate level of success; in
- 17 addition to Ms. Adams and Ms. White, the roster includes Kelsey
- 18 Assarian, Maryann Baker, Kristi Bellock, Kelsey Bone, Sydney
- 19 Carter, Skylar Collins, Sydney Colson, Adaora Elonu, Karla Gilbert,
- 20 Kristen Grant, Adrienne Pratcher, Catherine Snow, and Cierra
- 21 Windham; and
- 22 WHEREAS, These determined athletes were guided by head coach
- 23 Gary Blair and received additional direction from associate head
- 24 coaches Vic Schaefer and Kelly Bond and assistant coach Johnnie

H.R. No. 1261

- 1 Harris; and
- WHEREAS, Through skill, dedication, and teamwork, the Texas
- 3 A&M players prevailed against two top-seeded squads and a series of
- 4 other tough opponents as they advanced through the NCAA tournament
- 5 to earn a place among the elite collegiate teams in their sport;
- 6 their achievement has inspired Aggies the world over to raise their
- 7 hands in a jubilant "gig 'em," and this triumph will forever remain
- 8 a cherished memory for all who take pride in this beloved Texas
- 9 university; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas A&M women's basketball
- 12 team on winning the 2011 NCAA Division I national championship and
- 13 extend to its players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 14 continued success; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

King of Zavala
Brown
Dukes
Otto
Guillen

H.R. No. 1261

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Gooden Allen Murphy Guillen Naishtat Alonzo Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Lavender Deshotel Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Geren Miles Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

				п.к.	NO.	1201
		Speaker of the House				
	I certify that H.R. No. 1261 was	s adopted	by the	House	on	April
26,	2011, by a non-record vote.					
		Chie	f Clerk	of the	Нос	ıse