RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A life made rich through meaningful service drew to 2 a close when restaurateur, rancher, and activist Benjamin N. Matta 3 of Pecos died on November 4, 2010, at the age of 90; and

WHEREAS, Ben Matta was born in Saragosa on April 1, 1920, to Sebestian and Margarita Matta; he learned the value of hard work at an early age, leaving school after the sixth grade; and

7 WHEREAS, In 1939, Mr. Matta was managing a grocery store in 8 Pecos when he started his first restaurant in a house on the corner 9 of Fourth and Walnut Streets; by 1960, Ben's Spanish Inn had moved 10 to its fifth location on West Third Street, seating 450 patrons; the 11 restaurant was known throughout West Texas for its popular chile 12 relleno, and Mr. Matta designed and built a chile roaster that could 13 roast 500 pounds of chiles in an hour; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his life, Mr. Matta was a champion for civil rights; in 1943, he refused to accept a seat in the upper balcony of the Grand Theater in Pecos, where Hispanics usually had to sit; from 1949 to 1952, he led a successful campaign to obtain pavement and gutters for the East Pecos neighborhood, and in the early 1950s he helped to stop the segregation of Hispanic students in Pecos schools, despite a boycott of his restaurant; and

21 WHEREAS, Mr. Matta continued to be a leader in his community, 22 serving as a Pecos city councilman, president of the League of 23 United Latin American Citizens, and president of the Pecos 24 Development Association; he was a 20-year member of the Pecos Lions

1

Club, and in 1970 he was named as an Outstanding Director of the
Pecos Chamber of Commerce; he attended St. Catherine's Catholic
Church; and

H.R. No. 1264

WHEREAS, In 1978, Mr. Matta retired to his ranch near Fort Davis, where he continued to demonstrate his skill at design and engineering, constructing an irrigation system for his vegetables and fruit trees that used half the water of a traditional system; he relocated to Las Cruces, New Mexico, in 1992 and then returned to Pecos in 1997; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Matta was joined in matrimony to the former Jesusita Chuy, and together they were blessed with six children, Ben, Jr., Louis, Jerry, Raymond, Hilda, and Mary; a passionate believer in education, Mr. Matta devoted much of his earnings from his restaurant for many years to sending his children to college; and

16 WHEREAS, Ben Matta lived a full and generous life centered 17 around his family and his community, and his devotion to both will 18 continue to inspire all those who knew and loved him; now, 19 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Benjamin N. Matta and 21 extend sincere condolences to the members of his family: to his 22 23 wife, Jesusita Chuy Matta; to his sons, Ben Matta, Jr., Louis Matta, 24 Jerry Matta, and Raymond Matta; to his daughters, Hilda Kershman and Mary Hollopeter; to his brother, Thomas Matta; to his sisters, 25 26 Elvira Garcia and Maria Matta; to his grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and to his other relatives and friends; and, 27

2

1 be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Benjamin N. 5 Matta.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1264 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 21, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House