H.R. No. 1266

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, April 2011 marks the eighth anniversary of the fall
of Baghdad to coalition troops, and this milestone provides a
fitting occasion to recognize the hundreds of thousands of U.S.
military personnel who helped to liberate Iraq from the tyranny of
Saddam Hussein and who have fought to help stabilize that country in
the difficult years that have followed; and
WHEREAS, Texans have long been supportive of all who serve in
the United States armed forces, and many of its own sons and
daughters have answered their country's call; as of January 2011.

8 the United States armed forces, and many of its own sons and 9 daughters have answered their country's call; as of January 2011, 10 more than 29,000 Texans in the active duty branches were serving in 11 Operation New Dawn, centered on Iraq, and Operation Enduring 12 Freedom, centered on Afghanistan; among these troops were more than 18,000 soldiers, over 4,000 airmen and airwomen, more than 3,500 sailors, and over 2,500 marines, in addition to approximately 3,000 members of the reserves; and

16 WHEREAS, Texas currently boasts the second-largest
17 population of veterans in the nation, with more than 1.7 million
18 vets residing in the Lone Star State; it is estimated that this
19 number includes over 111,000 veterans of Operations Iraqi Freedom
20 and Enduring Freedom; and

21 WHEREAS, To date, 19 Texans who have served in Iraq have been 22 accorded the Silver Star, the third-highest award for gallantry in 23 action, and one soldier has been awarded the Distinguished Service 24 Cross, the army's second-highest decoration for valor; and

H.R. No. 1266

- WHEREAS, More than 4,000 servicemen and servicewomen have given their lives in Operation Iraqi Freedom and its successor, Operation New Dawn, and approximately 32,000 U.S. troops have been wounded; the number of Texans who have died in the Iraq and Afghanistan operations together currently stands at more than 520; and
- WHEREAS, America's mission overseas has demanded fortitude, 8 skill, and determination on the part of its military personnel, and 9 they have performed with exemplary dedication and professionalism; 10 their service stands as a testament to the indomitable spirit of 11 this nation's armed forces; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

 Legislature hereby pay tribute to all Texans who have served in

 Operations Iraqi Freedom and New Dawn and extend to them profound
 appreciation for their selfless endeavors in this country's behalf.

Taylor of Collin

H.R. No. 1266

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1266		
Speaker of the House			
I certify that H.R. No. 1266 was	adopted by the House on April		
11, 2011, by a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House