H.R. No. 1309

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Burleson Rotary Club and delegates
- 2 with the Open World Program from Ukraine are visiting the Texas
- 3 State Capitol on April 21, 2011; and
- WHEREAS, Established by Congress in 1999, the Open World
- 5 Program aims to enhance capabilities for cooperation between the
- 6 United States and the countries of Eurasia and the Baltic States by
- 7 developing a network of leaders in that region who have gained
- 8 significant, firsthand exposure to America's democratic,
- 9 accountable government and free-market system and by providing
- 10 American hosts with the opportunity to learn about the countries
- 11 from those leaders; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Rotary Clubs across the nation have hosted more than
- 13 2,500 Open World participants through the years, sponsoring
- 14 projects that are designed to have relevance to the professional or
- 15 civic work of the individuals involved; the delegates here today
- 16 include a director of a charitable organization, the deputy
- 17 director of an advocacy organization, two city planners, a
- 18 journalist, and a student, all who work with governmental agencies
- 19 and elected officials in Ukraine, and the visit to Austin offers
- 20 them the chance to observe and experience Texas state government in
- 21 action; and
- 22 WHEREAS, In addition to its sponsorship of this worthwhile
- 23 initiative, the Burleson Rotary Club annually awards more than
- 24 \$12,000 in scholarships to deserving students, donates

H.R. No. 1309

- 1 dictionaries to more than 600 local third graders, and supports
- 2 such important programs as Meals-on-Wheels, Burleson Pregnancy Aid
- 3 Center, Harvest House, and Heart for the Kids; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Burleson Rotary Club and the Open World Program
- 5 are helping to develop more informed and involved citizens while
- 6 strengthening the bonds that unite our nations, and the men and
- 7 women who contribute to this effort are to be commended; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby welcome members of the Burleson Rotary Club and
- 11 distinguished honored guests from the Open World Delegation from
- 12 Ukraine to the Texas State Capitol and extend to all those in
- 13 attendance best wishes for an informative and memorable day in
- 14 Austin; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 16 for the visitors as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 17 of Representatives.

Orr Zedler

## H.R. No. 1309

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1309		
	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 1309 was	s adopted by the House on April		
21, 2011, by a non-record vote.			
•			

Chief Clerk of the House