H.R. No. 1310

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Environmental Excellence Awards are being
- 2 presented on May 4, 2011, to honor the citizens, communities,
- 3 businesses, and organizations that have distinguished themselves
- 4 through their dedicated efforts to protect and conserve our state's
- 5 natural resources; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Nominated by a blue ribbon committee and selected by
- 7 the Office of the Governor and the Texas Commission on
- 8 Environmental Quality, the award recipients have voluntarily
- 9 endeavored to preserve our state's natural resources in numerous
- 10 ways, including preventing pollution, minimizing waste, conserving
- 11 water, reducing energy consumption, and protecting wildlife; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The honorees of the 2011 Texas Environmental
- 13 Excellence Awards include the Valley Proud Environmental Council in
- 14 Harlingen, David Baker of Wimberley, the San Antonio Water System,
- 15 the U.S. Army Fort Bliss Directorate of Public Works in El Paso,
- 16 Union Pacific Railroad, the Fulton 4-5 Learning Center, the North
- 17 Texas Municipal Water District, and the Harlingen Irrigation
- 18 District, Cameron County No. 1; and
- 19 WHEREAS, These winners are also sharing their knowledge,
- 20 technology, and expertise to educate Texans on how to protect the
- 21 environment, and their leadership will prove vital in preserving
- 22 our state's natural resources for future generations; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 1310

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize May 4, 2011, as Texas Environmental
- 2 Excellence Awards Day and commend the award recipients for their
- 3 exemplary actions in behalf of the Lone Star State; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 6 for the 2011 honorees as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Smith of Harris

H.R. No. 1310

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1310 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House