H.R. No. 1311

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dorothy Berry of Baytown passed away on February 17, 2 2011, at the age of 86, leaving her circle of family and friends to 3 cherish their many happy memories of time spent in her company; and

WHEREAS, "Dot" Berry was born in West Columbia on December 5 25, 1924, to Tom and Effie Clark; she attended Robert E. Lee High 6 School in Baytown, where she performed with the Lee Brigadiers, an 7 all-female drum and bugle corps; after graduating from high school 8 in 1943, she continued her studies at Lee College; and

9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Berry enjoyed a rewarding marriage with her 10 husband, Eldon Berry, until his passing; she was blessed with three 11 children, Patrick, Pamela, and Lynne, as well as three 12 grandchildren, Austin, Ryan, and Bryan; and

WHEREAS, Devoted to her faith and her community, Mrs. Berry was active in the congregation at First Christian Church of Baytown, and she volunteered her time with the Saint James House nursing home; she also kept up a busy social life as a member of the Goose Creek Country Club, a bridge club, and the Thursday Forum; and

18 WHEREAS, A gracious and warm-hearted lady, Dot Berry 19 brightened the lives of all those who were fortunate enough to know 20 her, and she will be fondly remembered and deeply missed; now, 21 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Dot Berry and extend sincere condolences to the members of her family: to her daughters

1

H.R. No. 1311 1 and son-in-law, Pamela Ferguson and Lynne and Barry Miller; to her 2 grandchildren, Austin and Ryan Miller and Bryan Ferguson; and to 3 her other relatives and friends; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dorothy 7 Berry.

Smith of Harris

H.R. No. 1311

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1311 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 28, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House