RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The girls' basketball team of MacArthur High School 2 in Irving reached the ultimate level of achievement by claiming the 3 University Interscholastic League Class 5A state championship with 4 a victory in the title game on March 5, 2011; and

5 WHEREAS, Playing the talented team from Georgetown High 6 School in the state tournament finals at the Frank Erwin Center in 7 Austin, the Lady Cardinals built a 17-point halftime lead and went 8 on to win 74-51; the victory gave MacArthur High its first team 9 sport state championship and capped a 2010-2011 season that saw the 10 team win 37 of its 39 contests; and

11 WHEREAS, Alexis Jones was named the most valuable player of 12 the state tournament, while Karmyn Jackson and Ayriel Anderson were named to the all-tournament team; in addition, Ms. Jones received 13 14 the Gatorade Texas Girls Basketball Player of the Year honor and the Dallas Morning News all-area basketball MVP 15 award, while 16 Ms. Jackson was a nominee for the McDonald's All-American High School Basketball Team; and 17

18 WHEREAS, The Lady Cardinals also received valuable 19 contributions throughout the year from the other members of the 20 roster: Ivory Coleman, Demetria Foreman, Monique Jackson, Tiffini 21 Wilson, Khoria Newman, Cierra Robinson, Desiree Smith, and Tory 22 Jacobs; and

23 WHEREAS, During the state tournament, head coach Suzie 24 Oelschlegel was honored with a lifetime achievement award for her

1

31 years of coaching and her more than 600 career victories; she was
also named the All-Area Coach of the Year for 2010-2011 by the
Dallas Morning News; and

4 WHEREAS, The MacArthur athletes received additional guidance 5 from assistant coaches Kim Nance, Jennifer Smith, and Joe Shelley and benefited from the work of statistician Wally Banks, trainers 6 Adrianna Perry and Matthew Reames, and team managers D'Adra Ollis, 7 8 Lucy Partida, Brianna James, and Destiny Newsome; the MacArthur High School principal is Cynthia Bean and the campus coordinator is 9 10 Brian Basil, while leadership on the district level is provided by Irving ISD athletic director Joe Barnett and superintendent Dana 11 12 Bedden; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an enduring commitment to excellence, and these talented student-athletes may take justifiable pride in this accomplishment; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the MacArthur High School girls' 20 basketball team on winning the UIL Class 5A state championship and 21 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 22 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the Lady Cardinals as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1323 was adopted by the House on May 3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House