RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Gerald Brown, a retired lieutenant with the Dallas
 Fire-Rescue Department, has rendered exceptional service as chair
 of the Dallas Police and Fire Pension System Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, Elected to the board in 1983, Jerry Brown was chosen as board chair in 1999, and he served in that capacity for 11 years; with his retirement from the Dallas Fire-Rescue Department on August 31, 2010, he stepped down as head of the board, but he remained a trustee until March 2011, when a special election was held to fill his seat; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure at the helm, Mr. Brown provided 10 11 the board with confident, steady guidance as it oversaw a period of 12 successful financial growth; known for his good humor and his tireless determination to expand his expertise, he became the 13 14 organization's real estate expert as it added more properties to investment portfolio; he also served on the 15 its board's 16 administrative advisory committee; and

WHEREAS, In addition to working with the Dallas Police and Fire Pension System, Mr. Brown has served as a vice president on the board of directors for the Texas Association of Public Employee Retirement Systems and as a member of the National Conference on Public Employee Retirement Systems; and

22 WHEREAS, Through his knowledgeable and energetic leadership, 23 Jerry Brown has played an instrumental role in ensuring the 24 soundness of the Dallas police officers' and firefighters'

1

1 retirement fund, contributing to a more secure future for those who 2 give their all to protect Dallas residents today; now, therefore, 3 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby commend Jerry Brown for his outstanding service
as chair of the Dallas Police and Fire Pension System Board of
Trustees and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
happiness; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Mr. Brown as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Anchia

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1347 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House