RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year on April 21, people throughout the Lone 2 Star State commemorate San Jacinto Day in honor of the decisive 3 battlefield victory that brought about the independence of the 4 Republic of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, On that date in the year 1836, the Texan forces led General Sam Houston faced a crucial moment in their 6 by 7 revolutionary struggle against the rule of Mexican dictator Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna; over the course of the previous six weeks, 8 Texan forces had been defeated at both the Alamo and Goliad, and 9 General Houston's army had retreated steadily to the east; 10 11 meanwhile, the Mexican troops commanded by General Santa Anna were 12 determined to follow up their earlier victories by seizing the seaports along the Texas coast; by mid-April, the two armies were 13 14 within a few miles of one another in the bayou country near the San Jacinto River; General Houston decided that the time for attack had 15 arrived; and 16

WHEREAS, Moving into position on the afternoon of April 21, the Texans formed their battle lines, and with cries of "Remember the Alamo!" and "Remember Goliad!," they surged toward the Mexican encampment; when the guns went quiet less than 20 minutes later, the Mexican army had been routed, with more than 600 of its troops killed and more than 700 taken prisoner; only nine Texans were killed or mortally wounded in the fighting; and

24 WHEREAS, The following day, General Santa Anna was captured

1

1 and, after meeting with General Houston, agreed to order all 2 Mexican troops to leave Texas; later, he agreed to the Treaties of 3 Velasco, which recognized the independence of Texas; with these 4 steps, Mexican rule in Texas effectively came to an end, and the 5 Republic of Texas was established; and

WHEREAS, Individuals from a range of backgrounds contributed 6 7 to this epic battlefield victory; among them were a company of 8 Tejano troops who served bravely under the command of the prominent revolutionary leader Juan Nepomuceno Seguin and are representative 9 10 of the many Hispanics who took up arms in the independence movement; another Latino member of the Texan army was Lorenzo de Zavala, Jr., 11 12 the son of the republic's vice president; as an aide to Sam Houston, he acted as a translator in the general's negotiations with Santa 13 14 Anna; and

15 WHEREAS, Soldiers young and old were part of the fight for the Texans; there were teenagers such as 15-year-old William P. Zuber, 16 17 16-year-olds Thomas O'Conner and Cornelius DeVore, and 19-year-olds Alfonso Steele and Elijah Votaw; on the other end of 18 19 the spectrum were James Curtis, Sr., and John S. Menifee, both 57 20 years old, and Asa Mitchell, the oldest person in the battle at age 60; in addition, General Houston's forces contained troops who had 21 earlier taken part in the fighting at Goliad as well as individuals 22 23 who had been present at the Alamo but had been ordered to leave the 24 fort before its fall to carry out various missions; after surviving those engagements, they were able to assist in vanquishing the 25 26 enemy force that had killed so many of their fellow Texans; and 27 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the courage and determination that

2

1 are so much a part of the Texas character, the valiant members of 2 Sam Houston's army charged across a grassy battlefield in April of 3 1836, intent on securing liberty and avenging their fallen 4 comrades; their steps set in motion a series of events that have 5 made the State of Texas into the prosperous land that we enjoy 6 today, and the momentous events of that day indeed deserve to be 7 remembered and celebrated; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate San Jacinto Day in the year 2011.

Price

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1363 was adopted by the House on April 21, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House