H.R. No. 1371

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The students of Steiner Ranch Elementary School in 2 Austin raised more than \$12,500 for their fellow students in 3 Bolivia as part of the school's 2011 Students Helping Students, Pay 4 It Forward project; and

5 WHEREAS, Donations for this worthy endeavor came from 6 individual students, many of whom contributed money they had 7 received for their birthdays or other occasions, as well as from 8 community-wide efforts, including sales of baked goods, lemonade, 9 and snow cones; among the other fund-raisers were a movie night 10 benefit and a student birthday party in which guests were 11 encouraged to donate to the project in lieu of gifts; and

12 WHEREAS, The money collected will go to help schoolchildren in Marquina, a poor village near the city of Cochabamba; the 110 13 14 students there have no desks and few books, and they also lack clean water and medical care; the efforts of the kindergarten through 15 fifth-grade classes at Steiner Ranch Elementary will help to 16 provide the deserving Bolivian boys and girls with a new school 17 building, a medical clinic, and a clean water source, as well as 18 books and toys; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The young Texans attending Steiner Ranch Elementary 21 have distinguished themselves through their generosity and 22 dedication, and they are indeed deserving of recognition for their 23 commitment to the greater good; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

1

H.R. No. 1371

Legislature hereby commend the students of Steiner Ranch Elementary
School for their outstanding efforts in behalf of the 2011 Students
Helping Students, Pay It Forward project and extend to them sincere
best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Howard of Travis

H.R. No. 1371

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1371 was adopted by the House on April 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House