## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, April 21, 2011, marks the 175th anniversary of the
Battle of San Jacinto, the culminating engagement of the Texas
Revolution; and

WHEREAS, After a decade of sporadic clashes between Texas 4 colonists and Mexican officials, the movement toward rebellion 5 picked up increasing momentum in the fall of 1835; Antonio Lopez de 6 Santa Anna, the president of Mexico, having abrogated the 7 federalist Constitution of 1824 and assumed autocratic power, 8 9 decided to reestablish troops at posts in Texas that had been evacuated in 1832; as part of that plan, General Martin Perfecto de 10 11 Cos arrived in San Antonio with a battalion of infantry on October 9, 1835; an army of Texas volunteers quickly moved to lay siege to 12 San Antonio, in what became the first major campaign of the 13 14 revolution; General Cos finally capitulated on December 9, 1835, and he and his troops were allowed to withdraw to Mexico; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Determined to suppress the rebellion, General Santa Anna led an army of some 6,000 men into Texas in early 1836, 17 crossing the Rio Grande near present-day Eagle Pass; at the same 18 time, a second Mexican force, under General Jose de Urrea, advanced 19 20 into Texas farther to the east; while General Santa Anna besieged 21 some 180 Texas troops at the Alamo, a convention of Texas delegates convened at Washington-on-the-Brazos on March 1, 1836, and on March 22 23 2 adopted a declaration of independence; two days later, the convention appointed Sam Houston, one of the delegates, to take 24

1

1 command of the Texas army; and

WHEREAS, General Houston left immediately to join Texas troops gathered in Gonzales; when he reached that town, he learned that the Alamo had fallen and that a division of General Santa Anna's army was marching in his direction; given that the effective strength of his own force numbered only 374, as well as the fact that his men were poorly provisioned and largely untrained, he began a withdrawal toward the northeast, playing for time; and

9 WHEREAS, Elsewhere, the Texans were meeting with successive 10 defeats; the most shocking of those was the loss of James W. Fannin 11 and some 400 men, who were captured and then executed on March 27 in 12 what became known as the Goliad Massacre; and

WHEREAS, In April, General Houston halted his retreat at the 13 14 Brazos River and spent two weeks drilling his troops; a short time 15 later, on April 20, calculating that the time for battle had come at last, he staked out a position near the confluence of Buffalo Bayou 16 17 and the San Jacinto River; later that same day, General Santa Anna and his army caught up to the Texans and established their own 18 position; the following morning, General Cos arrived with an 19 additional body of soldiers, bringing the total strength of the 20 Mexican army to perhaps 1,200 or more, as opposed to the 21 approximately 900 men under General Houston's command; and 22

WHEREAS, Confident that he had the Texans on the defensive, General Santa Anna planned to launch an attack on April 22; on the afternoon of the 21st, however, while the Mexican army was resting, General Houston drew up his troops in battle formation; General Santa Anna had apparently posted no sentries, and a swell of land

2

1 between the two armies hid the Texans from view; and

2 WHEREAS, At the given signal, the Texans advanced across a 3 mile of open prairie toward the Mexican army, becoming visible only when they reached within about 200 yards of the Mexican camp; crying 4 5 "Remember the Alamo" and "Remember Goliad," they took General Santa Anna's troops completely by surprise; the battle lasted 18 minutes, 6 according to Sam Houston's report, but the killing continued for 7 8 about an hour afterward; in the end, Texan losses stood at 9 dead and mortally wounded, with 630 Mexican soldiers killed and 730 9 taken prisoner; General Santa Anna himself was captured the 10 11 following day; and

12 WHEREAS, With the Battle of San Jacinto, the long colonial 13 period of Texas history, stretching as far back as the 16th century, 14 came to an end; Texas would subsequently go on to be an independent 15 republic for nine years before joining the Union in 1845; and

16 WHEREAS, The Battle of San Jacinto dramatically changed the 17 course of Texas history, and the story of how an outnumbered army of 18 volunteers ultimately prevailed against General Santa Anna and his 19 troops continues to inspire a special sense of uniqueness and pride 20 among Texans to this day; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 22 Legislature hereby commemorate the 175th anniversary of the Battle 23 of San Jacinto and pay tribute to all those whose courage and 24 tenacity brought ultimate victory to the Texan cause.

> Branch Smith of Harris Legler

3

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1462 was adopted by the House on April 21, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House