H.R. No. 1474

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Winnsboro High School student Cody Olsen was
selected as a Texas All-State Band member in 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Texas Music Educators Association and the Association of Texas Small School Bands, the All-State Band 4 5 program brings together talented young musicians from across Texas who have successfully competed at the regional and area levels; in 6 7 2011, All-State students gathered in San Antonio from February 9 through February 12, attending workshops, concerts, and other 8 9 events and closing with a performance at the Lila Cockrell Theatre in the San Antonio Convention Center; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Olsen plays the tuba in the Winnsboro High 12 School band and earned the position of fourth chair in the All-State 13 Band; a sophomore and previously a member of the choir, he has only 14 participated in band since the eighth grade, when his family moved 15 to Winnsboro; in his freshman year of high school he made the 16 All-Region band and performed in a concert in White Oak; and

WHEREAS, One of three students from Winnsboro to be named to the All-State Band in 2011, Mr. Olsen has benefited from the guidance of Winnsboro High School band director Ben Scarborough; he attributes his quick mastery of his instrument to long hours of practice and the help of his teacher; and

WHEREAS, Cody Olsen's hard work and ability have placed him among elite high school musicians, and he can take justifiable pride in his achievements; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1474

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby honor Cody Olsen on his selection as a 2011 Texas
All-State Band member and extend to him sincere best wishes for
continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Olsen as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 1474

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1474 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House