H.R. No. 1486

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Municipal courts provide citizens of the Lone Star 2 State with a local forum where questions of law and fact can be 3 resolved in regard to alleged violations of state law and municipal 4 ordinances; and

5 WHEREAS, Because citizens come into contact with municipal 6 courts more than any other courts, the public impression of the 7 Texas judicial system is largely dependent on their experience 8 there; and

9 WHEREAS, Judges of the municipal courts function also as 10 magistrates for the State of Texas, and in that role they perform 11 such duties as issuing search and arrest warrants, giving 12 magistrate warnings, and setting bail for offenses ranging from 13 petty theft to murder; and

WHEREAS, Pledging to be impartial and to conform to the standards set by the Canons of Judicial Conduct, the estimated 6,000 employees of municipal courts work diligently to ensure the fair administration of justice while upholding the rigorous standards of professionalism; and

WHEREAS, Municipal judges, clerks, court administrators, bailiffs, and warrant officers continually strive to improve the administration of justice through participation in judicial education programs, seminars, workshops, and the annual meetings of their state and local professional organizations; and

24 WHEREAS, Municipal courts in Texas play a vital role in

1

H.R. No. 1486

preserving public safety, protecting the quality of life for area residents, and deterring future criminal behavior, and it is indeed fitting to recognize municipal judges and court support personnel for their exemplary dedication to the communities they serve; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize November 7-11, 2011, as Municipal 8 Courts Week and take special note of the important work performed by 9 all those associated with the state's municipal courts.

Solomons

H.R. No. 1486

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1486 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House