## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends are mourning the loss of Debra 2 Ann Sontag of Del Rio, who passed away on March 6, 2011, at the age 3 of 46; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of Barbara and Richard Beakley, the 4 5 former Deb Beakley was born on April 16, 1964, in Barranquilla, Colombia, where her father was working as a seismologist; the 6 family returned to Texas and she excelled in track at Bandera High 7 School; after attending The University of Texas at Austin and North 8 9 Texas State University, she worked for attorneys and legislators as a paralegal; she later accepted a key position with Hewitt 10 11 Associates in Irvine, California, but ultimately heeded the call of 12 her beloved Texas and settled near family in Del Rio; and

WHEREAS, While working as a hostess at Avanti Italian Restaurant, she met Bill Sontag, who was captivated by her sunny disposition and ready smile; the couple married on April 22, 2006, in Polly's Chapel, a historic stone sanctuary near her family's ranch; and

18 WHEREAS, Ms. Sontag worked at a number of Del Rio businesses, 19 including the Brown Bag, Cafe Centrale, Russell Hardware, San 20 Felipe Country Club, and Lake Amistad Resort & Marina; a talented 21 cook, she wrote a popular monthly column for *Southwest Texas Live!* 22 magazine that included her own recipes and those of other local 23 cooks and noted chefs; and

24

WHEREAS, Unfailingly kind, Ms. Sontag endeared herself to

1

1 innumerable people through her gentle and generous nature, as well 2 as her vivacious personality, and she sought to bring harmony to 3 every situation; moreover, she loved animals and showered her 4 golden retrievers with affection; and

5 WHEREAS, Debbie Sontag brought great joy to others, and those 6 she leaves behind will forever cherish their memories of time spent 7 in the company of this warm and gracious woman; now, therefore, be 8 it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 10 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Debra Ann Sontag and extend sincere condolences to the members of her family: to her 11 12 husband, Bill Sontag; to her mother, Barbara Beakley; to her brothers, John Beakley and his wife, Laura, Richard Beakley and his 13 14 wife, Sheila, and James Beakley and his wife, Heidi; to her aunts 15 and uncles, John and Dale Focke, Jeanne Davis, and Julian and Norma Gomez; to her stepchildren, Rob Sontag and his wife, Marci, and 16 17 their children, Maddie and Ryan Sontag, and Debb Scott and her husband, Luke; to her sister-in-law, Kathy Beck; and to her many 18 other relatives and friends; and, be it further 19

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Debra Ann 23 Sontag.

Gallego

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1498 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 5, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House