RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sacred Heart Catholic School in Del Rio celebrated the 110th anniversary of its establishment in 2010; and WHEREAS, Thought to be the oldest educational institution in the Del Rio area, Sacred Heart Catholic School was founded in 1900, and since that time, it has provided a quality education to generations of children from the region; and

7 WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of principal Aurora Guerra 8 and assistant principal Julie Ricks, Sacred Heart has been 9 recognized as an official "Leader In Me School," a program in which 10 children from prekindergarten through eighth grade are taught 11 leadership, accountability, self-direction, responsibility, 12 problem solving, and other skills; and

WHEREAS, Sacred Heart junior high students chose the historic 13 14 Loma De La Cruz Cemetery in Del Rio as their service project; they worked with the Loma De La Cruz Cemetery Association in helping with 15 16 the preservation of the site and in recording and updating information about the people buried there; moreover, on February 17 25, 2011, students joined with alumni and other community 18 volunteers to clean up the cemetery as part of the nationwide 19 20 celebration of Catholic Schools Week; and

21 WHEREAS, For more than 11 decades, the faculty and staff of 22 Sacred Heart Catholic School have committed themselves to meeting 23 the educational needs of their students, and the school has played a 24 vital role in helping many young Texans build a bright and

1

1 prosperous future; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 110th anniversary of Sacred 4 Heart Catholic School and extend to all those associated with the 5 school sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1500 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House