RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Twenty-three Texas A&M University students are 2 providing valuable support to the 82nd Texas Legislature while gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural 3 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public 4 5 Policy Internship Program; and WHEREAS, For more than two decades, the Agricultural and 6 7 Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has sent student interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on a wide 8 9 array of issues; their strong background and interest agriculture and natural resources allow them to offer specialized 10 11 knowledge to legislators; the program was founded in response to a 12 request by a member of the United States Congress for an intern who could assist his office with these matters, and it has since grown 13 14 to include numerous congressional offices as well as the United States House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture, the 15 United States Department of Agriculture, and offices on the state 16 level during legislative years; more than 700 students have 17 participated in semester-long internships; and 18 WHEREAS, The Public Policy Internship Program, established 19 20 in 1999, works with various colleges and departments to create an 21 interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training, 22 research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital 23 and in Austin serve in a variety of settings that align with their

academic and professional goals; more than 400 students have

24

1 participated in semester-long internships; and

2 WHEREAS, Led by director Breanne Svehla, both internship 3 programs select their highly qualified and dedicated participants through a rigorous application process; in addition to academic 4 5 achievement, students must demonstrate their potential to take full advantage of the opportunities for scholarly and professional 6 development as well as the desire to serve our state and nation; and 7 8 WHEREAS, The 2011 Texas A&M University policy interns serving in Austin are: Mary Beth Allcorn, Michael Baca, Cai Benavides, 9 Jennifer Bremer, Jonathan Connors, Matthew Cope, Jessica Decker, 10 11 Katelin Dietz, Renee Gertson, Blane Langston, Bridget Levien, Emily 12 Lord, Thaís Macedo, Patrick McMahon, Nathan Motl, Rebecca Pride, Shelly Reynolds, Benjamin Rowe, Reagan Rupard, Ryan Skrobarczyk, 13 14 Lance Umlang, Eugenia Wagner, and Jordan Williford; and 15 WHEREAS, Through the years, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy and Public Policy Internship Programs have helped 16 17 exceptional students deepen their understanding of governmental operations while developing professional skills and networks, and 18 alumni have gone on to make vital contributions and assume 19 leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding young 20 people who are giving of their time and talents throughout this 21 legislative session can indeed take pride in their achievements and 22 23 service to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby recognize the Texas A&M University Agricultural 25

and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public

Policy Internship Program and commend the current participants for

26

27

H.R. No. 1506

- 1 their diligence and commitment; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard from the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Hardcastle

H.R. No. 1506

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

		H.R. No. 1506			
_	Speaker of	the House			
I certify that H.R. No. 1506 was	adopted by the I	House on April			
11, by a non-record vote.					

Chief Clerk of the House

28, 2011, by a non-record vote.