H.R. No. 1563

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texas Department of Transportation executive
- 2 director Amadeo Saenz, Jr., has served his agency with great
- 3 dedication since 1978, and it is indeed fitting to recognize his
- 4 contributions; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native of Hebbronville, Mr. Saenz earned his
- 6 bachelor's degree in civil engineering with honors from The
- 7 University of Texas at Austin; he initially joined TxDOT as an
- 8 engineering laboratory assistant in the Pharr District; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Saenz was appointed district engineer in the
- 10 Pharr District in October 1993; eight years later, he was named
- 11 assistant executive director for engineering operations in Austin;
- 12 he implemented and managed policies, programs, and operating
- 13 strategies according to federal and state laws and Texas
- 14 Transportation Commission regulations and directives; since 2007,
- 15 he has served as executive director of the agency, managing,
- 16 directing, and implementing policies, programs, and operating
- 17 strategies; and
- 18 WHEREAS, This notable Texan served his profession as a member
- 19 of the Civil Engineering External Advisory Committee for UT-Austin;
- 20 he has also been active in his community and was a member of the
- 21 Rotary Clubs in Laredo and Pharr; moreover, he gave generously of
- 22 his time and talents to the Boy Scouts in the McAllen area; and
- WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Saenz enjoys the support
- 24 and encouragement of his wife, Geraldine, and their children,

H.R. No. 1563

- 1 Priscilla and David; he owns and operates a small cattle ranch in
- 2 South Texas and enjoys horseback riding and hunting; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Amadeo Saenz, Jr., has worked to benefit the
- 4 citizens of Texas throughout a tenure in public service spanning
- 5 more than three decades, and he may reflect with pride on his
- 6 achievements; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby honor Amadeo Saenz, Jr., for his service in the
- 9 Texas Department of Transportation and extend to him sincere best
- 10 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Mr. Saenz as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Phillips

## H.R. No. 1563

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Gooden Allen Murphy Guillen Naishtat Alonzo Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Lavender Deshotel Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Miles Geren Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1563
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1563 was 2011, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on May 5,
	Chief Clerk of the House