H.R. No. 1575

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Crawford L. Shield of Boy Scouts of America Troop
- 2 No. 405 in Georgetown has attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this
- 3 accomplishment truly merits special recognition; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant
- 5 honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the
- 6 scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding
- 7 criteria, Mr. Shield earned 38 merit badges and successfully
- 8 completed an Eagle Scout project that entailed renovating the
- 9 playground at the Community Montessori School; and
- 10 WHEREAS, A junior at Georgetown High School, where he has
- 11 been involved with the football program, this fine young Texan has
- 12 demonstrated outstanding leadership ability throughout his
- 13 scouting career, winning the respect and admiration of his fellow
- 14 scouts as he worked toward the highest rank that scouting offers; he
- 15 has attended the Philmont Training Center program as well as winter
- 16 camps at Lost Pines and Camp Sol Mayer, and he has participated in a
- 17 number of high adventure trips; his future plans include studying
- 18 wildlife and coastal resources management in college; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Shield's dedication to excellence and
- 20 his perseverance in the pursuit of his goals have proven him worthy
- 21 to stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with
- 22 pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Crawford L. Shield on achieving the

H.R. No. 1575

- 1 rank of Eagle Scout and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 2 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Eagle Scout Shield as an expression of high regard by
- 5 the Texas House of Representatives.

Schwertner

H.R. No. 1575

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1575 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House