## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Small Farmers and Ranchers Community Based 2 Organization is dedicated to assisting historically underserved 3 agricultural producers and to saving small farms and ranches; and WHEREAS, In 1998, the 100 Farmers Conference was held at 4 5 Langston University in Oklahoma City to unite small and underserved farmers and rural residents to communicate their needs, chart their 6 7 own destinies, and begin to engage themselves in the development of public policy; participants from Texas formed TSFR/CBO as a 8 community-based nonprofit organization committed to enhancing 9 rural economies, conserving and managing natural resources, 10 preventing the further decline of family farms, and improving the 11 12 quality of life for minorities in rural communities; and 13 WHEREAS, Today, TSFR/CBO works to develop agricultural 14 markets, increase technology transfer, and improve environmental conditions in rural Texas; moreover, it advocates for small farmers 15 and ranchers at local, state, and national levels; it is currently 16 partnering with the Texas/Mexico Border Coalition and The 17 University of Texas--Pan American in the South Central Initiative 18 for Outreach and Assistance for Socially Disadvantaged Farmers and 19 20 Ranchers, sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture 21 to increase participation in its programs; and WHEREAS, 22 Providing myriad technical assistance educational opportunities, TSFR/CBO supports its clients with a 23 wide range of activities, including visits to individual ranches 24

H.R. No. 1643

- 1 and farms, surplus pine tree seeding, topography map and soil
- 2 analysis, a youth gardening program, career and scholarship
- 3 programs for young people, and workshops in risk management, estate
- 4 planning, water quality, and other subjects; this dynamic group
- 5 broadens its services by partnering with a host of organizations,
- 6 among them the Natural Resources Conservation Service, the Texas
- 7 State Technical Committee, the Farm Service Agency, the Texas
- 8 Agri-Life Extension Service, and FFA; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Guided by state coordinator W. Wade Ross, the Texas
- 10 Small Farmers and Ranchers Community Based Organization greatly
- 11 benefits rural communities across the Lone Star State through its
- 12 multifaceted programs, and it is indeed fitting to recognize its
- 13 vital contributions; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby honor the Texas Small Farmers and Ranchers
- 16 Community Based Organization and extend to its staff sincere best
- 17 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 20 Texas House of Representatives.

Deshotel

## H.R. No. 1643

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Gooden Allen Murphy Guillen Naishtat Alonzo Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Deshotel Lavender Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Miles Geren Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1643
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1643 wa	s adopted by the House on May 12,
2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House