## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Roberto "Bobby" Barrera of Del Rio was elected chair
of the board of directors of the Disabled American Veterans at the
organization's 2010 national convention; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Barrera formerly was national commander of the DAV, which is a 1.2-million-member organization dedicated to building better lives for America's disabled veterans and their families; a disabled veteran himself, he sustained combat wounds that included serious facial burns and the loss of his right hand and left arm during the Vietnam War; and

10 WHEREAS, After his military service, Mr. Barrera earned a 11 bachelor's degree in psychology from St. Mary's University and a 12 master's degree in guidance and counseling at Sul Ross State 13 University; he was a member of the faculty of Del Rio High School, a 14 juvenile probation counselor, and director of the family support 15 center at Laughlin Air Force Base; today, he conducts motivational 16 presentations for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs; and

WHEREAS, Honored for his many accomplishments, this esteemed Texan earned the Purple Heart, National Defense Service Medal, and Vietnam Service Medal; in addition, he is the recipient of the 1998 Outstanding Disabled Veteran of the Year award from the DAV, the 1997 Outstanding Employee with a Disability Award from the U.S. Department of Defense, and the State of Texas Disabled Veteran of the Year Award in 1990 and 1998; and

24

WHEREAS, Mr. Barrera is devoted to his wife, Maricelia, and

1

1 his three children and four grandchildren; and

2 WHEREAS, Bobby Barrera is a strong and inspiring advocate for 3 our nation's military personnel and veterans, and it is a pleasure 4 to honor him for his exceptional service in their behalf; now, 5 therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 7 Legislature hereby commend Roberto Barrera, chair of the Disabled 8 American Veterans, and extend to him sincere best wishes for the 9 future; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for Mr. Barrera as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1671 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House