RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, On September 11, 2001, Osama bin Laden, a sworn
- 2 enemy of the United States of America, coordinated a series of
- 3 monstrous and cowardly terrorist attacks that resulted in the
- 4 tragic loss of 2,977 innocent lives, leading to an engagement in a
- 5 war on terrorism across many fronts; and
- 6 WHEREAS, On May 1, 2011, after nearly 10 years of bin Laden's
- 7 evasion of military and intelligence forces seeking his capture,
- 8 President Barack Obama declared to the nation and the world that bin
- 9 Laden had finally been killed, and that "Justice has been done.";
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, The president's patience, leadership, wisdom, and
- 12 determination have led directly to the demise of the most wanted man
- 13 in the world and have hardened this nation's resolve to defeat the
- 14 forces of malevolent fanaticism, and by destroying the mastermind
- 15 behind the worst terrorist attack on American soil he has struck a
- 16 significant and historic blow against Al Qaeda; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Following the death of the perpetrator of the
- 18 attacks, the family members and friends of those who lost their
- 19 lives in the attacks on September 11 are able to achieve a greater
- 20 sense of closure; and
- 21 WHEREAS, After months of meetings of the National Security
- 22 Council, led by President Obama, who directed intelligence
- 23 officials to zero in on bin Laden's whereabouts, intelligence
- 24 officials devised and carefully carried out a clandestine

- H.R. No. 1694
- 1 operation, which had frequently been rehearsed in an effort to
- 2 minimize casualties, both civilian and military; and
- WHEREAS, As commander-in-chief of our great nation, he boldly
- 4 gave the final authorization to commence the operation to brave and
- 5 highly trained members of our nation's armed services; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Upon hearing the news of bin Laden's elimination, in
- 7 an impressive show of unity and in defiance of the fanatics who
- 8 still today seek to destroy our free way of life, jubilant citizens
- 9 expressed pride in our nation and our president by spontaneously
- 10 celebrating the news in cities across the country, singing "The
- 11 Star Spangled Banner" and loudly chanting "U-S-A," and former
- 12 presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush have offered him their
- 13 congratulations; and
- WHEREAS, Domestically, he has acted with both initiative and
- 15 organizational acumen toward the precautionary defense of our
- 16 citizens and has successfully prevented a terrorist attack on
- 17 American soil during his service to our nation as president; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Internationally, he has wisely exercised the use of
- 19 diplomacy to nurture collaborative relationships with other
- 20 nations, which has helped improve the freedom and safety of the
- 21 world's people; and
- WHEREAS, President George W. Bush had the near universal
- 23 support of the freedom-loving peoples and countries of the world
- 24 after the attacks on September 11, 2001, when he famously pledged to
- 25 defend freedom against fear, saying "We will not tire, we will not
- 26 falter, and we will not fail," and President Obama had the strength
- 27 and wherewithal to see that pledge through to fulfillment; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Legislators in Texas reaffirm the solemn creed that
- 2 we are one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice
- 3 for all, who stand strongly behind the president with respect to
- 4 these several issues as he confronts the grave problems of national
- 5 and international security; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd
- 7 Legislature of the State of Texas hereby congratulate President
- 8 Obama on his proven and successful policies in the war on terrorism
- 9 and in homeland security; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd
- 11 Legislature of the State of Texas hereby commend the intelligence
- 12 personnel who diligently and quietly toiled for years to uncover
- 13 the whereabouts of bin Laden and whose achievement, while historic,
- 14 may never be fully known to the public; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd
- 16 Legislature of the State of Texas hereby commend the members of the
- 17 armed forces who successfully and heroically carried out an
- 18 incredibly sensitive mission with no military losses and with a
- 19 minimal loss of civilian lives; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the chief clerk of the Texas House of Representatives forward official copies of this resolution to the president of the United States, to the speaker of the House of Representatives and the president of the Senate of the United States Congress, to the governor of Texas, and to all the members of the Texas delegation to Congress with the request that this resolution be officially entered in the Congressional Record as a memorial to the Congress of the United States of America.

Coleman Farias Anderson of McLennan McClendon Gallego Allen J. Davis of Harris Burkett Davis of Dallas Farrar Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo Hochberg Hopson Howard of Travis Johnson Kolkhorst Kuempel Madden Legler Martinez Miles Naishtat Reynolds Rodriguez Sheffield Scott Taylor of Galveston Turner Vo

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Bohac Bonnen Brown Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris

Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Frullo Gallego Geren Giddings

Gonzales of Hidalgo Gonzales of Williamson Miller of Comal Gonzalez

Guillen

Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson

Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes

Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel

Hunter

Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden

Mallory Caraway Margo

Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon

Menendez Miles

Miller of Erath

Morrison

Munoz, Jr. Naishtat Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Pickett Pitts

Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson

Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant

Smithee Solomons Strama

Taylor of Galveston

Thompson Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal

Vo Walle White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1694
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 169 2011, by a non-record vote.	94 was adopted by the House on May 2,
	Chief Clerk of the House