H.R. No. 1701

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Sugar Valley Chapter of Top Ladies of
- 2 Distinction, Inc., is hosting a recognition and scholarship
- 3 luncheon on May 7, 2011, in Houston; and
- WHEREAS, Chartered in Texas in 1964, Top Ladies of
- 5 Distinction is a nonprofit humanitarian and professional
- 6 organization with more than 100 chapters in the United States and
- 7 Jamaica; dedicated to improving the lives of residents in the areas
- 8 it serves, the group sponsors numerous community-based programs and
- 9 projects; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The theme of the 2011 Sugar Valley Chapter event is
- 11 "Honor in Service to Others . . . Giving Back Thru Health and
- 12 Wellness," and its proceeds are being directed toward a scholarship
- 13 fund for members of Top Teens of America; moreover, the Sugar Valley
- 14 Chapter is paying tribute to 12 exemplary citizens for their
- 15 contributions to their fellow Texans; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The roster of this year's accomplished honorees
- 17 includes: Dr. Mildred Bright, Lovie Harris, Cynae Johnson, Dr.
- 18 Pleshette Johnson-Wiggins, Dr. Edith Irby Jones, Pamela Jones, Dr.
- 19 Rhonda Jordan, Dr. Kenneth King, Donna Mills-Johnson, Cozeta Nelms,
- 20 Dr. Tina Oliver, and Roxanne Race; and
- 21 WHEREAS, These individuals have demonstrated great ability
- 22 and dedication in their various fields of endeavor, and their
- 23 efforts are greatly appreciated by the members of their community;
- 24 now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1701

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend the 2011 honorees of the Sugar Valley
- 3 Chapter of Top Ladies of Distinction, Inc., for their outstanding
- 4 achievements and extend to all those associated with the chapter
- 5 sincere best wishes for a successful and memorable event.

Dutton

H.R. No. 1701

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1701 was adopted by the House on May 3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House