H.R. No. 1718

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The purchasing department of the Waco Independent
- 2 School District was recognized with a Texas Association of School
- 3 Business Officials Award of Merit for Purchasing and Operations at
- 4 the TASBO Annual Conference on March 3, 2011; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Award recipients were judged on their policies and
- 6 procedures, staff training and certification, use of technology,
- 7 contract operations, and other criteria; this is the third
- 8 consecutive year the Waco ISD department has earned this notable
- 9 distinction; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Led by purchasing director Sherry Smith, the
- 11 department includes Bill Lagrone, Eric Hicks, Juanita Arechiga,
- 12 Derrick Payne, Janie Edwards, Charlie Daniels, Jason Brinkley,
- 13 Terry Parker, Judy Monroe, Mary Kay Hopper-Miller, and Retha
- 14 Dorris; and
- 15 WHEREAS, A purchasing department that practices fiscal
- 16 responsibility is especially important during these difficult
- 17 economic times, and it is indeed a pleasure to honor the purchasing
- 18 staff of Waco ISD for its outstanding efforts; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby congratulate the purchasing department of the
- 21 Waco Independent School District on its receipt of a Texas
- 22 Association of School Business Officials Award of Merit for
- 23 Purchasing and Operations and extend to its staff and director
- 24 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

H.R. No. 1718

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the department as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 1718

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1718 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House