H.R. No. 1739

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Dispute Resolution System celebrated its
- 2 25th anniversary in 2010; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Created in 1985 by Lubbock County, the Texas Dispute
- 4 Resolution System is the most active statewide public Alternative
- 5 Dispute Resolution (ADR) provider; Alternative Dispute Resolution
- 6 refers to the use of a trained and neutral third party to formulate
- 7 a viable solution to a problem; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The Texas Dispute Resolution System operates four
- 9 distinct programs: the Dispute Resolution Training Institute,
- 10 which has provided ADR training and continuing education workshops
- 11 to more than 1,000 trainees, the South Plains ADR System, which
- 12 handles thousands of mediation activities each year for 10
- 13 counties, the Domestic Relations Office, which offers
- 14 family-related mediation services, and Texas Rural Mediation
- 15 Services, which addresses disputes between consumers and various
- 16 USDA agencies, as well as other issues affecting rural Texans,
- 17 including estate settlement, land boundaries, crop insurance, and
- 18 compliance with farm programs; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The governor designated Lubbock County as the
- 20 state-certified mediation program to mediate USDA disputes in Texas
- 21 through the Texas Dispute Resolution System; and
- WHEREAS, D. Gene Valentini played an instrumental role in the
- 23 establishment of the Texas Dispute Resolution System; he became the
- 24 system's director in 1988, and he continues to lead the program

H.R. No. 1739

- 1 today as the most tenured director of any ADR system in Texas
- 2 created under Chapter 152 of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies
- 3 Code; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The commissioners court and the board of judges of
- 5 Lubbock County have supported the growth of the Texas Dispute
- 6 Resolution System; and
- 7 WHEREAS, For a quarter of a century, the Texas Dispute
- 8 Resolution System has upheld its mission to provide an effective
- 9 alternate resource for the resolution of disputes while saving
- 10 taxpayers millions of dollars, and the program is indeed worthy of
- 11 commendation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas Dispute Resolution System on
- 14 its 25th anniversary and extend to all those associated with the
- 15 program sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 16 further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the Texas Dispute Resolution System as an expression
- 19 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Perry Frullo

H.R. No. 1739

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1739	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 1739 wa	as adopted by the House on May 12,	
2011, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House