H.R. No. 1740

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Inflammatory breast cancer is a rare but very 2 aggressive type of breast cancer in which the cancer cells block the 3 lymph vessels in the skin of the breast; and

WHEREAS, Individuals with IBC may experience such symptoms in their breasts as redness, swelling, shooting pain, persistent tiching, and warmth, which may appear virtually overnight; and

7 WHEREAS, IBC cases risk being misdiagnosed because the 8 symptoms are similar to those of the benign breast infection 9 mastitis, and delay of appropriate care often means a Stage IV 10 diagnosis; and

WHEREAS, Although IBC accounts for only one to five percent of all breast cancer cases, it has a faster doubling time than that of other breast cancers; moreover, the lack of expertise about IBC in the medical community and the cancer's resistance to treatment with standard chemotherapy drugs make the five-year median survival rate for IBC approximately 40 percent; and

WHEREAS, IBC usually grows in nests or sheets without the usual lump women are told to look for, and because there is no lump, IBC is rarely detected by mammograms or ultrasounds; and

20 WHEREAS, The treatment for IBC differs from other breast 21 cancer treatments, and finding a physician with IBC-specific 22 experience is essential; and

23 WHEREAS, Increasing public understanding of inflammatory 24 breast cancer is the first step toward fighting this devastating

1

H.R. No. 1740 1 disease, and participating in Inflammatory Breast Cancer Awareness 2 Month is one effective way to support that effort; now, therefore, 3 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize October 2011 as Inflammatory Breast
Cancer Awareness Month and encourage all Texans to learn more about
IBC.

Alvarado

H.R. No. 1740

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1740

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1740 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House