RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Chinese American Citizens Alliance 2 are celebrating 100 years of community leadership at their 51st 3 Biennial National Convention in Houston on July 27-30, 2011; and WHEREAS, Founded in San Francisco in 1895 as the Native Sons 4 5 of the Golden State, the Chinese American Citizens Alliance is the nation's second-oldest community support organization focusing on 6 civil and immigration rights; it soon expanded to other California 7 cities and incorporated on May 15, 1912, to open interstate 8 chapters called lodges; in 1915, with lodges in Chicago, 9 Pittsburgh, Detroit, Boston, and other cities across the country, 10 11 it adopted its present-day name; the national growth of the 12 organization eventually led to the establishment of two Texas chapters, the Houston Lodge and San Antonio Lodge; and 13 14 WHEREAS, The organization began admitting women in 1977, and less than 20 years later, regional lodges had almost equal numbers 15 16 of male and female presidents; the first female national grand president was elected at the 1997 convention, and today the 17 Alliance benefits from the skillful leadership of grand president 18 Carolyn Hong Chan and executive vice president Virginia C. Gee; and 19 WHEREAS, Through the years, members of the Alliance have 20 21 worked with steadfast resolve to promote civil rights, social justice, and family unity; they have supported innumerable civic 22 23 and educational programs in their communities, and their good works 24 are guided by their cardinal principles, "to fully enjoy and defend

H.R. No. 1742

- 1 the rights and privileges of American citizenship, to support and
- 2 obey the laws and Constitution of the United States, to cultivate
- 3 the mind through exchange of knowledge, to effect a higher
- 4 character among the members, and to observe and practice the
- 5 fundamentals of brotherly love and mutual help"; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The members of the Chinese American Citizens
- 7 Alliance have devoted themselves to the betterment of their
- 8 communities, and they are indeed deserving of special recognition
- 9 for their dedication to civic life and social progress; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby welcome the members of the Chinese American
- 13 Citizens Alliance on the occasion of their 51st Biennial National
- 14 Convention and congratulate them on their organization's
- 15 centennial; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the Alliance as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Howard of Fort Bend

H.R. No. 1742

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White
Garza		Woolley
Geren	Miles	Workman
Giddings	Miller of Comal	Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1/42	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 1742 wa	s adopted by the House on May 17,	
2011, by a non-record vote.		
	Chief Clerk of the House	