H.R. No. 1751

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas author Frank McMillan is a recipient of the
NAESP Foundation's 2011 Children's Book of the Year Award for his
chapter book, The Young Healer; and

WHEREAS, Presented for the first time this year, the award recognizes unpublished manuscripts in two categories, picture book and chapter book, and includes a publishing contract; and

7 WHEREAS, Mr. McMillan's work was selected from more than a 8 thousand entries, and *The Young Healer* will be published in 2012 by 9 Charlesbridge Publishing; the book will be endorsed by the NAESP 10 Foundation, which is affiliated with the National Association of 11 Elementary School Principals, and will have the organization's book 12 award emblem on its cover; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas A&M University with bachelor's and master's degrees in geography, Mr. McMillan teaches geography at Del Mar College and Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi; he is active in his community as well, serving on the board of several nonprofit groups that address social issues; and

18 WHEREAS, Mr. McMillan is also the author of a previous book, 19 Cezanne Is Missing, a well-regarded thriller for children about the 20 history and aftermath of the Holocaust; and

21 WHEREAS, This talented educator and writer has won 22 distinction with his compelling stories for young readers, and he 23 is indeed deserving of this prestigious recognition; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1751

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Frank McMillan on his receipt of a 3 2011 NAESP Foundation Children's Book of the Year Award and extend 4 to him sincere best wishes for success with his forthcoming book; 5 and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. McMillan as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Hunter

H.R. No. 1751

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1751 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House