RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Mary Ann Rankin, the dean of the College of 2 Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin, is taking on a new challenge in August 2011 when she becomes the next president 3 and CEO of the National Math and Science Initiative; and 4 WHEREAS, The National Math and Science Initiative is a 5 nonprofit organization that was created in 2007 to increase science 6 and math achievement in the United States and ensure our nation's 7 continued leadership in the global economy; by expanding advanced 8 9 placement course offerings, improving mastery of science and math 10 and training qualified teachers, the 11 encouraging American innovation in vital fields such as technology, 12 engineering, and medicine; the program was established with support from the Exxon Mobil Corporation, the Bill and Melinda Gates 13 14 Foundation, the Michael and Susan Dell Foundation, and other partners; and 15 WHEREAS, Mary Ann Rankin has served as dean of the UT College 16 of Natural Sciences since 1994; in addition to overseeing a college 17 that serves about 9,000 undergraduate and 1,800 graduate students 18 and employs 360 faculty members, she has shepherded the development 19 20 of new interdisciplinary research initiatives such as the Waggoner 21 Center for Alcohol and Addiction Research, the Institute for Cellular and Molecular Biology, the Center for Learning and Memory, 22 23 and the Marine Science Institute; she is considered an expert

fund-raiser, with grants and contracts awarded to the college in

24

H.R. No. 1752

- 1 2009-2010 amounting to more than \$134 million, as well as a
- 2 respected scholar who has conducted research and published
- 3 extensively on insect physiology and behavior; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Rankin has further distinguished herself as a
- 5 champion of the Freshman Research Initiative, and since 2007 she
- 6 has worked with the National Math and Science Initiative on
- 7 replicating throughout the country the UTeach program, which
- 8 prepares secondary school math and science teachers; the UTeach
- 9 program has tripled its enrollment in the past three years, and it
- 10 is being used as a model at more than 20 other institutions;
- 11 Dr. Rankin has also contributed to her professional community as a
- 12 member of the American and Royal Entomological Societies and the
- 13 American Association for the Advancement of Science and as vice
- 14 chair of the board of directors of the Southwest Research Institute
- 15 in San Antonio; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Rankin began her affiliation with UT 36 years
- 17 ago, when she was hired as an assistant professor of zoology in
- 18 1975; she became chair of the biological sciences department in
- 19 1989; and
- WHEREAS, Before coming to Texas, this Indiana native received
- 21 a bachelor's degree in biology and chemistry from Louisiana State
- 22 University and served as a National Science Foundation predoctoral
- 23 fellow at the University of Iowa and at Imperial College in England;
- 24 in 1972, she earned her doctorate in physiology and behavior from
- 25 the University of Iowa and then went to Harvard as a National
- 26 Institutes of Health postdoctoral fellow; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Regarded by her peers as a determined, organized,

H.R. No. 1752

- 1 and dedicated leader who has steered the College of Natural
- 2 Sciences to its place as one of the world's best, Dr. Rankin is sure
- 3 to bring that same clarity of vision and commitment to science and
- 4 mathematics education to her new position; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Mary Ann Rankin on her
- 7 appointment as president and CEO of the National Math and Science
- 8 Initiative and extend to her sincere best wishes for success; and,
- 9 be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Dr. Rankin as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Hunter

H.R. No. 1752

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1752 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House