## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, May 1, 2011, will stand as an unforgettable 2 milestone in the global fight against terrorism, for on that day Osama bin Laden was brought to justice when he was killed by an 3 assault team made up of special forces of the United States 4 5 military; citizens of Kerr County are honoring this momentous event with a "God Bless America" rally on May 6, 2011, to show their 6 7 patriotism and loyalty to the country, allegiance to God, and deep gratitude to members of the U.S. military for their service each and 8 9 every day; and

10 WHEREAS, In the culmination of a carefully planned operation, 11 commandos stormed the home in the city of Abbottabad, Pakistan, 12 where bin Laden and his accomplices had been hiding; an intense gun 13 battle ensued when the terrorists resisted apprehension, and bin 14 Laden was killed in the firefight; and

WHEREAS, This historic event, in which no Americans were 15 harmed, finally defeated the mastermind of the 9/11 terrorist 16 attacks that resulted in the deaths of nearly 3,000 innocent 17 people; the achievement ends a decade-long search for bin Laden and 18 provides a well-deserved sense of closure for all Americans; it is 19 20 no doubt a particularly poignant moment for the loved ones of those 21 who perished on September 11, 2001, and our thoughts go out to them as they reflect on the meaning of this long-anticipated day; also 22 23 joining in relief at this breaking news are citizens the world over who likewise have suffered at the hands of Al Qaeda and its leader; 24

1

1 and

2 WHEREAS, Though the identities of many of the key players 3 involved in the dangerous mission are not yet known, all are 4 deserving of praise for their actions, particularly the members of 5 the navy's elite SEAL Team Six that carried out the assault on bin 6 Laden's compound; and

7 WHEREAS, Following the breaking news, Congressman Pete King 8 of New York, chair of the House Homeland Security Committee, said in 9 an interview, "In 2001, President Bush said 'we will not tire, we 10 will not falter, and we will not fail.' President Bush deserves 11 great credit for putting action behind those words. President 12 Obama deserves equal credit for his resolve in this long war against 13 Al Qaeda."; and

14 WHEREAS, While our nation's fight against those who 15 perpetuate terror is far from over, the operation against Osama bin 16 Laden is a monumental step forward in that effort and one that the 17 citizens of the United States of America will never forget; now, 18 therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 20 Legislature hereby commemorate the Kerr County "God Bless America" 21 rally, honor members of the U.S. military and CIA and others 22 responsible for bringing Osama bin Laden to justice, and extend to 23 the families and friends of those who were killed on 9/11 our 24 continued heartfelt support.

> Hilderbran Flynn Berman King of Parker Zedler

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1758 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House