RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Longtime Houston developer and community leader 2 James Clarke Box passed away on April 14, 2011, at the age of 80; and 3 WHEREAS, A descendant of John Neely Bryan, the founder of Dallas, Jim Box was born on February 1, 1931, in Houston; he began 4 5 his career as a draftsman for the City of Houston but eventually joined the Mischer Corporation, where he worked his way up to senior 6 vice president and played an instrumental role in the construction 7 of many local subdivisions; in 1993, he became an independent 8 consultant in the development field; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Mr. Box spent nearly three decades on the board of 11 the Greater Houston Builders Association and also served as the 12 longtime chair of its Community Developers Council; in addition, he 13 was a member of the Houston Contractors Association and the 14 Association of Water Board Directors, and he was appointed by 15 Governor Rick Perry in 2002 to the Texas Water Advisory Council; and

16 WHEREAS, In 1979, Mr. Box was named by the City of Houston to the board of the Harris-Galveston Subsidence District; he worked on 17 18 the committee that formulated the first regulatory plan for the district, supervised passage of a 1999 plan calling for access to 19 surface water for residents of north and west Harris County, and 20 21 helped to ensure the success of the district's water conservation programs; he was elected chair of the district board in 1984 and 22 23 held that post until his passing; and

24

WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman further shared his time,

1

1 talents, and expertise with local civic organizations and 2 institutions, including the Houston Community College Foundation, 3 which he chaired; for his efforts, he received six presidential 4 citations and the Harris B. Lieberman Distinguished Service Award, 5 and he was selected as Developer of the Year three times by the 6 Greater Houston Builders Association; and

7 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Mr. Box enjoyed the love and 8 support of his wife of 53 years, Ellen, and his children, Doug, 9 Kandice, and Allyson; among his greatest pleasures was spending 10 time with his family at his farm in Caldwell; moreover, he enjoyed 11 being actively involved in his congregation at the Foundry 12 Methodist Church in Houston; and

WHEREAS, Jim Box brought to his many undertakings enthusiasm and a desire to make a positive difference, and although he is deeply missed, he leaves behind a legacy that will long resonate in the community and state he was proud to call home; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 18 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of James Clarke Box and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, 20 Ellen Box; to his son, Doug Box, and his wife, LaVelda; to his 21 daughters, Kandice Gremillion and her husband, Keith, and Allyson 22 23 Koether and her husband, Brian; to his grandchildren, Daniel Popps 24 and his partner, Lynette, David Box and his wife, Jennifer, Derrick Box and his fiancee, Elle, Sam Barrick, Hannah Koether, and Phillip 25 26 Koether; to his great-grandchildren, Kayo Popps, Michael Popps, and Austin Box; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it 27

2

1 further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of James 5 Clarke Box.

Callegari

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1762 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 10, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House