H.R. No. 1779

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The cast and crew of the Seminole High School
- 2 One-Act Play are visiting the State Capitol on May 10, 2011, and
- 3 this occasion presents an ideal opportunity to commend them for
- 4 their impressive successes in 2011 University Interscholastic
- 5 League competition; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Founded in 1927, the UIL's One-Act Play contest is
- 7 the largest high school play production competition in the world;
- 8 every year, more than 14,000 high school students in over 1,000
- 9 plays participate in some 300 contests across the Lone Star State;
- 10 historians consider the league's theater program to be the
- 11 foundation of educational and community theater in Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Competing in UIL District 4, Class 3A, the creative
- 13 and energetic young people from Seminole High School successfully
- 14 performed scenes from Players in the Game at the district, area, and
- 15 regional competitions and earned the right to compete in the state
- 16 finals; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Senior Savanna Winn and freshman Jadon Hatley were
- 18 named to the all-star cast, and Reed Chappell received an honorable
- 19 mention award; in addition, junior Jack Cagle was selected as best
- 20 lighting technician; the victorious cast and crew also includes
- 21 Shawn Barndollar, Keith Chevraunt, Delaney Clark, Haylee Dodson,
- 22 Trey Dodson, Juan Espino, Mason Griffin, Alexis Hastings, Bailey
- 23 Hughes, Jennifer Hughes, Chastin Jackson, Brooklynn James, Jenna
- 24 Johnson, Kaley Johnson, Kourtney Kildow, Nate Maxwell, Bradley

H.R. No. 1779

- 1 Melton, D. J. Rickman, Angela Sims, Tonya Sodd, and Jasmine Torres;
- 2 this outstanding group is ably guided by Josh Harriman, Abbie
- 3 Harriman, and Aaron Martin; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The continuing richness and vibrancy of Texas
- 5 culture depends in large part upon the enthusiasm and commitment of
- 6 gifted young people, and the Seminole High School One-Act Play cast
- 7 and crew have earned great distinction for themselves, their
- 8 school, and their community through their excellence in the
- 9 dramatic arts; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the students from Seminole High
- 12 School who have participated in the 2011 UIL One-Act Play
- 13 competitions and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 14 success; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Perry

H.R. No. 1779

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1779 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House