H.R. No. 1814

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, James Baugh is retiring as city manager of DeSoto in 2 April 2011 after a distinguished 14-year tenure, providing a 3 welcome opportunity to recognize his many career accomplishments; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, Jim 6 Baugh earned a master's degree in public administration from 7 Southwest Texas State University in 1976; he then served as an 8 assistant city manager in San Marcos and in Greensboro, North 9 Carolina, and over the next 10 years, served as city manager of San 10 Marcos, Brownsville, and Longview; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Baugh was appointed city manager of DeSoto in 12 1997, and he made open government and participation in regional cooperatives important goals of his administration; under his 13 14 leadership, renovations were completed on the DeSoto town and senior centers and the central fire station, and he oversaw the 15 construction of a new police station and town service center, the 16 purchase of the historic Nance Farm, and the implementation of city 17 equipment and vehicle replacement programs, a two-year budget 18 forecasting system, and an employee recognition initiative; 19 moreover, in 2006, DeSoto was named an All-America City by the 20 21 National Civic League; and

22 WHEREAS, For nearly a decade and a half, Jim Baugh has served 23 the citizens of DeSoto with great dedication, and his outstanding 24 commitment to excellence has made his community an even better

1

H.R. No. 1814

1 place in which to live and work; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor James Baugh on the occasion of his 4 retirement as city manager of DeSoto and extend to him sincere best 5 wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Baugh as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 1814

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1814 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House