H.R. No. 1825

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lois Finkelman has been named to head a new Dallas
- 2 task force that is charged with investigating the potential risks
- 3 of natural gas drilling in the area; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The committee is being established as the city
- 5 considers issuing permits to allow drilling at Hensley Field in far
- 6 west Oak Cliff; and
- WHEREAS, In taking on this task, Ms. Finkelman is drawing on
- 8 her vast experience in public service and environmental issues; she
- 9 served four terms on the Dallas City Council, and during her tenure
- 10 was chair of the council's environmental committee and a member of
- 11 the National League of Cities Energy, Environment, and Natural
- 12 Resources Steering Committee; moreover, she holds master's degrees
- 13 in environmental science and science education from The University
- 14 of Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Finkelman is also a longtime advocate for public
- 16 spaces; she is vice president of the Dallas Parks Foundation and
- 17 chair of the National Recreation and Park Association, and she
- 18 previously held the office of president with the Dallas Park and
- 19 Recreation Board; and
- WHEREAS, Overseeing the gas drilling investigation is a task
- 21 of great importance to the city and its residents, and Lois
- 22 Finkelman's diligence, expertise, and insight make her the perfect
- 23 choice for this demanding assignment; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 1825

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Lois Finkelman on being appointed
- 2 as head of the Dallas Gas Drilling Task Force and extend to her
- 3 sincere best wishes for success in this vital initiative; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Finkelman as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Carter

H.R. No. 1825

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1825 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House