## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas National Nurses Organizing 2 Committee are gathering at the State Capitol to mark International 3 Nurses Day on May 12, 2011, the 191st anniversary of the birth of 4 Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing; and

5 WHEREAS, An affiliate of the National Nurses Organizing 6 Committee, the Texas NNOC works to promote the interests of 7 patients and direct care nurses and RN professional practice; the 8 Texas NNOC represents more than 10,000 nurses in the Lone Star 9 State; and

WHEREAS, Committed to maintaining and advancing high 10 11 standards of patient care, members of the Texas NNOC advocate 12 forcefully for the lives of people in their care and strive to prevent medical errors and improve patient safety; according to a 13 14 2002 study in The New England Journal of Medicine, hospitals with a higher proportion of nursing care provided by RNs and a greater 15 16 number of hours of care by RNs per day achieve better outcomes for their patients, and other significant studies have shown similar 17 18 results; and

WHEREAS, Nurses inform patients about matters affecting health and wellness, and many nurses volunteer to promote general health by educating the public on warning signs and symptoms of disease and by providing general health screenings and serving at immunization clinics, blood drives, and seminars; moreover, nurses provide advice and emotional support to the family members of

1

1 patients; and

2 WHEREAS, Through their tireless efforts in behalf of their 3 patients and the well-being of the public, nurses make vital 4 contributions to our state and nation, and it is indeed fitting to 5 recognize the important role they play in the health care system; 6 now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 8 Legislature hereby recognize May 12, 2011, as International Nurses 9 Day and extend to the members of the Texas National Nurses 10 Organizing Committee sincere best wishes for a memorable and 11 productive visit; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Thompson

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1883 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House