H.R. No. 1911

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Kappa Alpha Psi is celebrating the 100th anniversary
of its establishment at a Grand Chapter Meeting to be held in
Indianapolis from July 4 through 10, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Founded on the campus of Indiana University in Bloomington on January 5, 1911, and open to all men regardless of color, creed, or national origin, the fraternity adopted the motto "Achievement in every field of human endeavor"; and

8 WHEREAS, Alumni chapters in Marshall and Houston were 9 chartered in 1928, and the state's first undergraduate chapter was 10 chartered at Wiley College in 1935; today, there are more than 50 11 collegiate and alumni chapters in the Lone Star State and more than 12 600 internationally; and

WHEREAS, Kappa Alpha Psi is committed to training and 13 14 mentoring its members in preparation for leadership roles and for graduate and professional studies; its national initiatives 15 16 include programs that provide summer enrichment as well as educational and occupational guidance, particularly focusing on 17 middle and high school students; additionally, the group has raised 18 more than \$1 million for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and 19 supports scholarships, after-school programs, and projects like 20 21 Habitat for Humanity; and

22 WHEREAS, With achievement as its purpose, Kappa Alpha Psi has 23 fostered the bonds of brotherhood and given back to the community 24 for a century, and it is indeed appropriate to honor this worthy

1

H.R. No. 1911 1 organization and recognize the many accomplishments of its members; 2 now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 5 founding of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity and extend to all its members 6 sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable centennial 7 celebration; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Kappa Alpha Psi as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

> Johnson Dutton

2

H.R. No. 1911

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1911

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1911 was adopted by the House on April 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House