H.R. No. 1947

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Fort Worth Metropolitan Black Chamber of
- 2 Commerce works to promote economic opportunities for its members
- 3 and to enhance prosperity in the communities it serves; and
- WHEREAS, The chamber was founded in 1979 to support African
- 5 American-owned businesses as integral components of the Tarrant
- 6 County economic landscape, and three decades later, African
- 7 American entrepreneurs continue to make considerable contributions
- 8 to the growth and vitality of the area; and
- 9 WHEREAS, PATHS Forward, an important project sponsored by the
- 10 chamber, was established to provide young African American
- 11 professionals with opportunities to learn more about Tarrant County
- 12 and area nonprofit organizations; and
- WHEREAS, With a goal to prepare members to take a leadership
- 14 role in the community, the nine-month-long program helps
- 15 participants strengthen communication and management skills and
- 16 create strategies to achieve professional and personal success; 14
- 17 men and women are currently enrolled in the 2011 program, which
- 18 began in April; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The Fort Worth Metropolitan Black Chamber of
- 20 Commerce is making a positive difference in the lives of countless
- 21 people in North Texas and beyond, and it merits special praise for
- 22 its outstanding initiatives to promote a healthy business climate
- 23 in this state; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 1947

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize members of the Fort Worth Metropolitan
- 2 Black Chamber of Commerce for their contributions to the Tarrant
- 3 County economy and commend PATHS Forward participants for their
- 4 achievements; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Veasey

H.R. No. 1947

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1947 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House