H.R. No. 1950

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, BEST Robotics is contributing greatly to the
- 2 education of young Texans and the future of the Lone Star State
- 3 through its efforts to inspire students to pursue careers in
- 4 engineering, science, and technology; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Founded in Grayson County in 1993, BEST Robotics
- 6 hosts an annual contest for middle and high school students to
- 7 provide them with a real-world engineering experience that
- 8 incorporates the practical application of math and science and
- 9 helps the students to become more technologically literate; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Participation in BEST Robotics encourages young
- 11 people to develop leadership, project management, teamwork, and
- 12 organizational skills and increases their confidence and
- 13 competence as they undertake decision making, abstract thinking,
- 14 problem solving, and self-directed learning; and
- WHEREAS, Texas and the United States face a critical shortage
- 16 of engineers and technical workers, and science, technology,
- 17 engineering, and mathematics education is crucial to maintaining
- 18 the position of the United States as a leader in a global
- 19 technology-based economy; to solve this crisis, local school
- 20 districts, nontraditional education groups, and other
- 21 organizations must work together as partners; and
- 22 WHEREAS, A number of nonprofit and volunteer-driven
- 23 organizations are already achieving significant progress toward
- 24 the goal of greater scientific and technological literacy, and BEST

H.R. No. 1950

- 1 Robotics's outstanding accomplishments in this endeavor are indeed
- 2 deserving of commendation; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize May 17, 2011, as BEST Robotics Day at
- 5 the State Capitol and extend to all those associated with the
- 6 organization sincere best wishes for continued success.

Beck

H.R. No. 1950

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1950 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House