RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The United States Fish and Wildlife Service has

2 proposed granting endangered species status to the dunes sagebrush

3 lizard, a measure that would have a significant negative impact on

4 the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, The business climate in Texas has been consistently

6 ranked as the nation's best, and the oil and gas sector is crucial

7 to its continued vitality; Texas is the nation's leading producer

8 of oil and natural gas, and it holds 30 percent of the nation's

9 natural gas reserves and almost a quarter of its oil reserves; the

10 oil and gas industry contributes \$30 billion annually to the Texas

11 economy and employs more than 315,000 Texans at some of the highest

12 salaries in the state; and

WHEREAS, Despite its resilience, the Texas economy has not

14 been immune to the global economic recession; there have been

15 significant job losses over the past two years, and recently high

16 gas prices have posed new challenges; the Fish and Wildlife Service

17 failed to take these factors into account in its proposal to grant

18 endangered species status to the dunes sagebrush lizard in

19 southeastern New Mexico and adjacent oil-producing areas of West

20 Texas; and

21 WHEREAS, In addition, the service has failed to consider that

22 approximately 75,000 acres identified as habitat for the lizard are

23 owned and managed by The University of Texas for the benefit of

24 higher education; university officials have estimated that the

- H.R. No. 1955
- 1 listing could stop the drilling of approximately 1,000 oil and gas
- 2 wells and eliminate the production of seven million barrels of oil
- 3 equivalent annually; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Texas Legislature and the Texas Parks and
- 5 Wildlife Department have traditionally recognized the private
- 6 landowner as the primary steward of our state's natural resources,
- 7 but the Fish and Wildlife Service has not adequately consulted with
- 8 the State of Texas, Texas landowners, or other stakeholders;
- 9 moreover, the service has failed to fully consider issues unique to
- 10 species protection and habitat conservation in Texas; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Listing the dunes sagebrush lizard as an endangered
- 12 species would inflict severe economic damage, harm property owners,
- 13 and undermine higher education in the Lone Star State; now,
- 14 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby respectfully urge the United States Fish and
- 17 Wildlife Service to withdraw its proposal to list the dunes
- 18 sagebrush lizard under the Endangered Species Act of 1973; and, be
- 19 it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That the house of representatives direct the
- 21 agencies of the State of Texas to cooperate with the efforts of the
- 22 Texas Endangered Species Task Force to investigate the scientific
- 23 basis of the proposed listing and the potential burdens on private
- 24 property rights and economic development in the state; and, be it
- 25 further
- 26 RESOLVED, That the chief clerk of the Texas House of
- 27 Representatives forward official copies of this resolution to the

H.R. No. 1955

- 1 president of the United States, the acting director of the U.S. Fish
- 2 and Wildlife Service, the president of the Senate and the speaker of
- 3 the House of Representatives of the United States Congress, and all
- 4 the members of the Texas delegation to Congress with the request
- 5 that this resolution be entered in the Congressional Record as a
- 6 memorial to the Congress of the United States of America.

Chisum Craddick Lewis Gallego Perry

H.R. No. 1955

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal	Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1955	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 1955 was	adopted by the House on May 25,	
oy a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.