H.R. No. 1957

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The 100th birthday of an esteemed Texan is truly 2 cause for celebration, and Cleo Johnson Ashley of Houston is marking that significant milestone in her life on May 20, 2011; and 3 WHEREAS, The former Cleo Johnson was born in 1911 to Edward 4 5 and Cora Johnson in the community of Willis; the fifth of eight children, she grew up with the companionship of her brothers and 6 sisters, Robert, Edward, Lesley, Addie Mae, Earnestine, Rosie, and 7 Gladys, and attended Phillis Wheatley High School in Houston; and 8 9 WHEREAS, On April 29, 1935, she married Lorane Arthur Ashley, Sr., and the couple were blessed with four sons, Lorane, Charles, 10 Donald, and Michael, and a daughter, Joan; over the years, Mrs. 11 12 Ashley has seen her children go on to enjoy successful careers and rewarding family lives; along the way, she has gained 13 14 daughters-in-law, Peola, Brenda, and Mattie Ashley, 9 grandchildren, Glenn, Kevin, Dewayne, Keith, Kenneth, Lisa, Donna, 15 Trishauna, and the late Rick Ashley; with the passing years, her 16 family has further grown to include 17 great-grandchildren and 10 17 great-great-grandchildren; and 18 WHEREAS, A woman of strong faith, Mrs. Ashley has been a 19 congregant of the Fifth Ward Church of Christ for more than seven 20 21 decades; and 22 WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to her loved ones, Cleo Johnson

Ashley is cherished by all who know her for her kind and caring

ways, and it is a pleasure to honor her on a century of life well

23

24

H.R. No. 1957

- 1 lived; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Cleo Johnson Ashley on the joyous
- 4 occasion of her 100th birthday and extend to her sincere best wishes
- 5 for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mrs. Ashley as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 1957

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal	Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1957
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1957 was 2011, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on May 17,
	Chief Clerk of the House