H.R. No. 1979

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, James Perry, a concerned and active citizen of El
- 2 Paso, has been a tireless booster for the Sun City; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Born in Odessa on February 8, 1940, James Perry
- 4 graduated from Odessa High School in 1959; after high school, he
- 5 enrolled in the Dallas Institute of Mortuary Science, where he
- 6 completed his studies in 1961; he is also an alumnus of Texas
- 7 Christian University, Class of 1965, and The University of Texas at
- 8 Austin, Class of 1973; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Perry moved to El Paso in 2006, and since that
- 10 time he has dedicated himself to promoting the city whenever
- 11 possible; he has touted the charms of El Paso to the mayors and city
- 12 councils of a number of Texas cities, as well as the City of Los
- 13 Angeles; as a token of goodwill, he presents each council member
- 14 with a Texas pin; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to being an ambassador for El Paso, Mr.
- 16 Perry is also a world champion rodeo clown; he has become a fixture
- 17 at many parades and events, including the Brownsville Charro Days,
- 18 where he has donned his cowboy hat and costume to entertain
- 19 delighted crowds; he has also helped lift the spirits of many people
- 20 by visiting nursing homes and children's hospitals; and
- 21 WHEREAS, James Perry has demonstrated an admirable
- 22 enthusiasm and commitment to El Paso, and his efforts to promote his
- 23 fair city are indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be
- 24 it

H.R. No. 1979

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor James Perry for his contributions to El
- 3 Paso and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Perry as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Pickett

H.R. No. 1979

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Allen Gooden Murphy Guillen Alonzo Naishtat Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Branch Phillips Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Raymond Cain Hughes Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Solomons Laubenberg Deshotel Lavender Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Fletcher Marquez Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Miles Geren Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1979
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1979 wa 2011, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on May 16,
	Chief Clerk of the House