H.R. No. 1982

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Sarah Mason Thomas, Ashley Stallard, Nicole
- 2 Johnson, and Savannah Still, four outstanding tennis players from
- 3 Faith Academy in Marble Falls, proved their abilities by winning
- 4 titles at the 2010 and 2011 Texas Association of Private and
- 5 Parochial Schools Tennis State Championships; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ms. Thomas won the 2010 2A title in girls' singles; a
- 7 13-year-old freshman at the time of her triumph, she was the
- 8 youngest tennis player to ever become state champion; she dominated
- 9 her opponents in all four rounds of the tournament, losing just 10
- 10 games, and defeated Victoria Hoelscher of Temple Holy Trinity in
- 11 the finals to earn Faith Academy's first individual state title;
- 12 Ms. Thomas has also competed in United States Tennis Association
- 13 girls' 14 champ matches and has held a No. 1 ranking in the State of
- 14 Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Stallard and Ms. Johnson won the 2010 2A state
- 16 doubles championship as freshmen, giving the school its first title
- 17 in that event; the pair won the crown in straight sets over
- 18 Alexandra Bludau and Emma Gray of Halletsville Sacred Heart and
- 19 only dropped six games in the course of four matches; Ms. Stallard
- 20 has been a girls' 14 super champ player and Ms. Johnson a girls' 16
- 21 champ player; they, along with Ms. Thomas, are coached by Michelle
- 22 Stallard at the Horseshoe Bay Resort; and
- 23 WHEREAS, These victories helped the Lady Flames win the state
- 24 title in the team competition in 2010, and more success followed in

H.R. No. 1982

- 1 2011; Ms. Thomas joined with classmate Savannah Still to claim the
- 2 2A state championship in doubles, while Ms. Stallard was state
- 3 champion in the singles event and Ms. Johnson finished as
- 4 runner-up; overall, Faith Academy went home with its second
- 5 consecutive team title; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The hard work and commitment to excellence
- 7 demonstrated by these young women have helped their school team to
- 8 become one of the finest in Texas, and they may take justifiable
- 9 pride in their exceptional achievements; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Sarah Mason Thomas, Ashley
- 12 Stallard, Nicole Johnson, and Savannah Still on winning titles at
- 13 the 2010 and 2011 TAPPS Tennis State Championships and extend to
- 14 them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the players as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Sheets

H.R. No. 1982

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Allen Gooden Murphy Guillen Alonzo Naishtat Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Lavender Deshotel Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Miles Geren Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1982
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1982 was	s adopted by the House on May 24,
2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House