RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ruben Davis, Fort Bend County constable of Precinct 2 2, has served the residents of Fort Bend County with dedication for 3 15 years, and his contributions have helped make the county a better 4 place in which to live, work, and raise a family; and

5 WHEREAS, A retired senior supervisor with the Houston Police Department, where he served for 21 years, Constable Davis holds a 6 7 master peace officer certificate, and he is certified as a crime prevention specialist, as well as a police academy and D.A.R.E. 8 9 instructor; he earned a bachelor's degree in criminal justice from the University of Houston and a master's degree in counseling from 10 11 Prairie View A&M University; in all his endeavors he has enjoyed the 12 love and support of his wife, Sharon, and his daughters, Robin and Traneka; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Constable Davis is committed to improving the safety, security, and quality of life of the residents of his 15 16 community; he is the founder of the Community Council of Fort Bend, and he has served on the Fort Bend County Criminal Justice Grant 17 Board, the University of Houston System at Sugar Land Advisory 18 Board, and the National Diversity Forum Board; he is a past 19 20 president and former executive board member of the Houston Chapter 21 of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, and he formerly served on the boards of the Fort Bend County YMCA, 22 23 the African American Police League, and the Harris County Juvenile Probation Department; and 24

1

1 WHEREAS, The devotion to duty and commitment to excellence of 2 this esteemed Fort Bend County leader have contributed greatly to 3 the well-being of his fellow citizens, and he may indeed reflect 4 with pride on his many achievements; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 6 Legislature hereby commend Constable Ruben Davis for his 7 exceptional service in behalf of Fort Bend County and extend to him 8 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Constable Davis as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Reynolds

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1984 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House