## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss 2 of U.S. Army Private First Class Kyle Matthew Holder of The 3 Woodlands, who died on November 17, 2010, at the age of 18; and

WHEREAS, Assigned to the infantry as a member of the 1st
Squadron, 38th Cavalry Regiment, 525th Battlefield Surveillance
Brigade, XVIII Airborne Corps based at Fort Bragg, North Carolina,
Private Holder was mortally wounded while serving his nation at
Kandahar Airfield in Afghanistan; and

9 WHEREAS, Kyle Holder was born and raised in The Woodlands and 10 enlisted in the army after graduation from high school; he 11 completed boot camp in September 2010 and then became a rifleman in 12 Charlie Troop; he is remembered by his fellow soldiers for his 13 strength, enthusiasm, intelligence, and quiet confidence; and

14 WHEREAS, The military awards conferred on Private Holder include the National Defense Service Medal, the Global War on 15 16 Terrorism Service Medal, the Army Service Ribbon, and, posthumously, the Army Commendation Medal, the Army Good Conduct 17 Medal, the Afghanistan Campaign Medal, and the NATO Medal; and 18

WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and women whose love of country leads them to military service, and time can never diminish the profound debt that Americans owe to Kyle Holder for the challenge he undertook and the sacrifice he rendered; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Army Private 2 First Class Kyle Matthew Holder and extend sincere condolences to 3 the members of his family: to his parents, Bryant and Michelle 4 Holder; to his sister, Stefanie Holder; to his grandparents, Harry 5 and Roberta Farrell; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be 6 it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Private 10 First Class Kyle Holder.

Eissler

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1988 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 19, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House