H.R. No. 1992

By: Margo

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A science experiment designed by three El Paso
 Community College students was selected to fly on the final mission
 of the space shuttle *Endeavour*; and

WHEREAS, Two of the students, Michelle Holguin and Jarisma
Rodriguez, attend the Early College High School, while Diana Pahman
is enrolled at EPCC; and

7 WHEREAS, Under the direction of faculty members Gertrud 8 Knoings-Dudin and Maria Alvarez, these outstanding young 9 scientists designed an experiment to test the effects of low 10 gravity on the growth of *E. coli* bacteria on particles of 11 polystyrene plastic; and

WHEREAS, The spread of a biofilm formed by this bacteria on 12 polystyrene has been a problem for water stations; by sending 13 14 samples into space and keeping other samples on the ground as a control, the team will be able to test the difference in growth 15 16 through a scanning electron microscope and perhaps help develop antibacterial treatments; this innovative experiment is one of only 17 16 student projects from across the nation chosen to accompany the 18 flight; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Ms. Holguin, Ms. Pahman, and Ms. Rodriguez have 21 earned distinction for their school, city, and state with their 22 ingenuity, creativity, and insight, and they may indeed take great 23 pride in their achievement; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

1

H.R. No. 1992

1 Legislature hereby congratulate Michelle Holguin, Diana Pahman, 2 and Jarisma Rodriguez for having their experiment selected to ride 3 on the final flight of the *Endeavour* and extend to them sincere best 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 6 for Ms. Holguin, Ms. Pahman, and Ms. Rodriguez as an expression of 7 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.