H.R. No. 2057

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Area residents are gathering at Sugar Land Memorial 2 Park on Memorial Day 2011 to pay tribute to those who have given 3 their lives in service to the United States of America; and WHEREAS, In a tradition dating back more than a century, the 4 5 last Monday in May of each year is set aside as a time to demonstrate our respect and admiration for the United States armed forces and to 6 remember the legions of the fallen; this occasion resonates with 7 special meaning at a time when many of our sons and daughters and 8 9 husbands and wives are currently engaged in conflicts in distant lands; countless servicemen and servicewomen have experienced the 10 11 loss of a fellow American firsthand, and all our service members and 12 their families understand the true meaning of sacrifice; and 13 WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have many 14 individuals whose love of country leads them to military service, and on Memorial Day communities encourage their citizens to show 15 16 their unwavering support; at its ceremony, the city of Sugar Land is providing patriotic postcards on which participants can express 17 their good wishes to those serving around the world; and 18 WHEREAS, While the heroes who risk their lives defending our 19 20 freedom and values are constantly in the thoughts of the loved ones 21 who eagerly await their safe return, the observance of Memorial Day represents a very special opportunity for all citizens to unite in a 22 23 spirit of gratitude and remembrance, solemnly reflecting on a debt

that can never be repaid; now, therefore, be it

24

H.R. No. 2057

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2011 Memorial Day ceremony in
- 3 Sugar Land and extend to all the members of the nation's armed
- 4 forces deep appreciation for their courageous efforts in our
- 5 country's behalf.

Reynolds

H.R. No. 2057

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2057 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House