RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, U.S. Army Colonel Pamela A. DeLancy has served her
nation with distinction for more than three decades; and

3 WHEREAS, Colonel DeLancy entered the army in September 1980 an enlisted soldier; she completed basic training at Fort 4 as Jackson, South Carolina, and served four years before leaving the 5 military to attend the University of Houston; in her junior year of 6 college, she joined the Reserve Officer Training Corps and went on 7 to graduate from the Airborne School at Fort Benning, Georgia, as an 8 ROTC cadet; she received an early commission in 1987 and accepted an 9 army reserve assignment as a documentation officer in the 348th 10 11 Transportation Battalion; and

WHEREAS, After earning a bachelor's degree in nursing from The University of Texas Health Science Center in 1989, Colonel DeLancy entered active duty as an officer in the Army Nurse Corps; she served as a medical-surgical nurse at Fort Bliss, Texas, and as an emergency room nurse at Fort Stewart, Georgia, and then left active duty to work for four years as a medical-surgical nurse at the 4005th U.S. Army Hospital in Houston; and

WHEREAS, Colonel DeLancy subsequently became an active guard reserve soldier stationed with the army's Recruiting Command at Fort Knox, Kentucky; she went on to serve in such positions as quality assurance manager for clinical affairs and medical credentialing for the South East Regional Command, chief of credentialing at the U.S. Army Medical Department Professional

1

Management Command, and nurse administrator in the surgeon's office at 63D Regional Support Command; along the way, she obtained her master's degree in health administration from Central Michigan University; and

5 WHEREAS, Most recently, this outstanding officer was 6 selected to attend the prestigious War College, the army's highest 7 institution of professional development for strategic leaders; she 8 is slated to graduate with the Class of 2012; and

9 WHEREAS, Colonel DeLancy's achievements have been recognized 10 with the Meritorious Service Medal with three oak leaf clusters, 11 the Army Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters, the Army 12 Achievement Medal with three oak leaf clusters, the Good Conduct 13 Medal, the Armed Forces Reserve Medal, and the Global War on 14 Terrorism Service Medal, among many others; and

15 WHEREAS, Throughout her career, Colonel DeLancy has 16 benefited from the love and support of her husband, Barnes DeLancy, 17 as well as her two daughters, Tori and Tamara; and

18 WHEREAS, Colonel Pamela DeLancy has contributed immeasurably 19 to advancing the mission of every organization of which she has been 20 a part, and her exemplary efforts in behalf of the nation are indeed 21 deserving of praise; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby honor Colonel Pamela A. DeLancy for her distinguished military service and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success with her important work; and, be it further

27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

H.R. No. 20671 prepared for Colonel DeLancy as an expression of high regard by the2 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2067 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House