H.R. No. 2080

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Transforming Texas Waterfronts is working to 2 improve and develop valued natural resources, and its efforts are 3 indeed worthy of special recognition; and

WHEREAS, In 2008, a number of cities across the Lone Star 4 5 State joined in a coalition that advocates for waterway projects that improve the quality of life for Texans; the community 6 7 initiatives and infrastructure improvements highlighted by the group include the Johnson Creek and River Legacy in Arlington, the 8 Waller Creek Flood Control Tunnel in Austin, the Trinity River 9 Corridor Project in Dallas, the Trinity River Vision in Fort Worth, 10 11 the San Antonio River Improvements Project in San Antonio, the Brazos River Development in Waco, and Reclaiming Houston's Buffalo 12 13 Bayou; and

WHEREAS, Representatives of Transforming Texas Waterfronts created an educational exhibit for visitors to the State Capitol; an inspiring display, it informed the public about the major improvement projects underway and encouraged citizens to think about the vital roles that the waterways play in our communities; and

20 WHEREAS, The initiatives of the cities that are members of 21 Transforming Texas Waterfronts promote flood control, 22 environmental protection and restoration, recreation, and economic 23 growth, and the contributions of this outstanding organization will 24 continue to benefit residents of the Lone Star State in the years to

1

H.R. No. 2080

1 come; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 3 Legislature hereby commend Transforming Texas Waterfronts for 4 working to support the urban river development projects and extend 5 to all those associated with the initiative sincere best wishes for 6 continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Ritter

H.R. No. 2080

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2080 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House